General

[Haul] Ulta, Ross and Color Club Swatches!

I am hereby dubbing this event Swatchathon. Stay tuned every weekend through to November to see my entire nail polish collection swatched!

HAUL – ULTA & ROSS [Orly, Color Club] via Mariana’s Closet

We’re nearing the end of the 31 Days Challenge and I not sure whether I’m more sad or relieved. It’s been fun having a reason to post everyday and I feel like this challenge has helped me develop creatively, but my poor nails need a break and I’m guessing you guys do too! Well too bad because over the next two months I’m going to be swatching my entire collection! I know what you’re thinking, but I swear this is not turning into a nail blog. I know I’ve been posting about nail polish a lot lately, but I have other interests too! It just turns out that nail polish and nail art are the interests I’m focusing on right now.

Every Saturday and Sunday for the next two months until Nov. 25th when I’ll (hopefully) be finished, I’ll be posting swatches of my nail polish collection. I’ll be posting in reverse chronological order so you’ll get to see the order I bought my polishes up to the very beginning of my obsession. I’m doing this mainly because I think it’ll be nice to have a record of when and why I bought a certain color (I’m weirdly sentimental that way), but also because I think it’ll be nice to have a digital record of my collection! Not only that, but I feel like I’m being helpful by providing swatches since I know I appreciate being able to see different colors on different skin tones and in different lighting. :)

Color Club Swatches

I’m kicking today off with the last set of nail polishes that I bought. I found these over at ROSS about two weeks ago for $7.99! These are actually my first Color Club polishes so I didn’t know for certain if they were good quality, but the colors just looked so awesome and fall appropriate that I almost didn’t care. Hell, for 6 for $7.99 even if they were only alright quality they’d be worth the price. Luckily for me they were more than just alright and I’m already itching to go back to ROSS to see if I can find another set of these bad boys! The only complaint I have is that they don’t have names on the bottles or even on the box! I tried my best to find out the actual names, but it’s a lot harder than I though it was going to be. Most of the names I have written are guesses based on this list of Color Club nail polishes and google image searches.

Color Club Ready to Wear

Color Club Ready to Wear*

Color Club Ready to Wear Bottle

Color Club Ready to Wear* Bottle & Swatch

This color is definitely my least favorite out of the bunch. Ready to Wear is a light pink with a frost finish and it’s very sheer. Even after three coats you can still see a visible nail line, it kind of reminds me of what Orly Nailtrition looks like only a bit more opaque. The formula of this nail polish was pretty good, it didn’t show brushstrokes and it dried pretty quickly, but I still don’t like it. Especially now when my nails are so stained that it makes them look even worse. Maybe I’ll like it a lot more if I layer it over black.

Color Club Antiquated

Color Club Antiquated*

Color Club Antiquated Bottle

Color Club Antiquated* Bottle & Swatch

I am absolutely in love with this color! Antiquated is a beautiful rosy gold and I can imagine wearing this all year round! I only needed two thin coats, there were no brushstrokes and it dried pretty quickly! I was really sad when I had to take this color off so I could swatch the rest of the colors. So much so that I waited five minutes before removing it so that I could properly admire it.

Color Club Black-ish

Color Club Black-Ish*

Color Club Black-Ish Bottle

Color Club Black-Ish* Bottle & Swatch

I’m not really sure what to call this color (I’m not very good with color names), but Johanna over at Paillette (where I also found the name for this polish) calls Black-Ish a Burgundy so I’m sticking with that. I used two coats for what you see in the picture, but I’m starting to wonder if I should have gone for the third coat. The formula and the drying time is great, but I wish that the beautiful gold shimmer in the bottle showed up on the nail a lot more. I’m not really sure how to feel about this color. I like it, but I think it’s a bit too sophisticated for me right now. I can see myself wearing it during the coming months though, so it gets a pass.

Color Club Groove Thang

Color Club Groove Thang*

Color Club Groove Thang Bottle

Color Club Groove Thang* Bottle & Swatch

Now this, this is my type of color. Groove Thang is a beautiful deep, almost black, purple and I love almost blacks! I’m pretty sure that I won’t be happy until I have an almost black in every color. I don’t remember if I used two or three coats for this polish, but I do remember that the formula and drying time were great. Are you sick of hearing that? Me neither! I can’t wait to wear this a lot this coming month. October just seems like a great time to break out the almost blacks!

Color Club Editorial

Color Club Editorial*

Color Club Editorial Bottle

Color Club Editorial* Bottle & Swatch

Let me start off by saying that this is probably not Editorial, as in I would be pretty surprised if it actually turned out to be the Chanel Peridot dupe. It’s just that the only reason I noticed this set was because I thought this color was a Chanel Peridot dupe, but I don’t think it is anymore. This color is an absolute chameleon. Sometimes it looks just plain silver, but when I compare it to my silvers it looks goldish-green and since I don’t have Peridot or any of its dupes I can’t compare them. I don’t know how to feel! I’m absolutely fine with it not being another Peridot dupe because I love what it is, I just want to know the actual name! Someone help me with this please? Oh, PS: the formula and drying time are awesome, just like the other polishes in this set and I can’t wait to wear this!

Color Club Take the Stage

Color Club Take the Stage

Color Club Take the Stage Bottle

Color Club Take the Stage Bottle & Swatch

Now this is the reason I bought this set. Gold glitter mixed with shredded holographic glitter? YES PLEASE! This is also the only polish in this set that I was able to identify 100% because there is no other nail polish like it! This makes for an awesome layering polish, but you’ll (I’ll) be glad to hear that it could definitely be worn alone. You’ll just have to make sure you’re ready to commit to the 5th coat. The drying time for this polish was pretty good and I didn’t have too much problem with the application. Some of the hologlitters do curl, but I got over it. I can’t wait to wear this for every special occasion in the foreseeable future.

*I’m not 100% sure this is the name, but it’s the closest thing I could find to this color so I’m going with it.

So that’s it for the first set of swatches and as you can tell I’m head over heels for Color Club. Tune in tomorrow and every weekend to see more of my collection! Like I said in the video, I’m hoping to do a full nail polish collection video in October, but now I’m starting to think that I should wait until I have all of my colors swatched. Who knows, I’ll figure it out later. :)

What do you think? Also, if you own any of these polishes and can say for sure what their names are please let me know! I’ll send you good thoughts and an imaginary cookie!

7 thoughts on “[Haul] Ulta, Ross and Color Club Swatches!

  1. Pingback: Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure [#Swatchathon] | Mario, Shut Up!

  2. I bought the same set from Ross. Love the colors and you’re right, they’re perfect for fall. Im pretty sure green/grey/gold one is snakeskin. I’m not 100% sure but from the description of other blogs it’s the closest fit I’ve found. Hope this helps. I hate not knowing the names of my polish.

    • I just googled it and it’s definitely a closer fit! Thank you do much! :)
      I don’t understand why they didn’t just put the names on the bottles. Would’ve made everything so much easier.

  3. Hey, wanted to let you know, the dark cream reddish purple, I am 100% is catwalk queen. It is 100% not groove thang. I own it and it is shimmery. I got this collection today and was hoping for names. I think the one you think is editorial is actually snakeskin? Usually Ross doesnt sell full collections as it is a discount store and so it being mis packaged or labeled is why they end up at Ross. I love that they are there and enjoy the variety, thanks for the hard work and hope the corrections help.

  4. Pingback: First Outfit of 2012 | Mario, Shut Up!

  5. Ok, correction, catwalk queen is also a shimmer like groove thang, However- Ready to royal is a fantastic fit. Also ready to wear is described as a pink/grey duochrome , which mine is absolutely not. So I’m curious if it is or not! Again thank you for this and FYI- I’ve seen at my local Rosses, Essie, Nicole by OPI, Revlon and Sally Hanson sets, I love having some LA Colors as dupes and for frankening and there is a brand there called Cosmetic Arts in flat-ish square bottles, great colors and decent formulas for like $1. Paydays are playdays and I love seeing what they get in new! (They’ve also been carrying Yankee candles which are phenomenal!)

    • Thank you so much! I’ve just been so busy I haven’t been able to edit this to include those names! I’m not sure if it’s a duo-chrome, but I’ll check it as soon as I can. It’s just so hard to come up with the actual names.

      I used to hate ROSS, but as soon as I got into nail polish it’s one of my favorite places to go! Same with TJ Maxx and Marshall’s, though mine have been lacking in variety lately.

Leave a Reply

