Mariana's Closet / Nail Polish & Nail Art

NAILED IT! Will You Be My Valentine?

Valentine's Day Skittles Mani

Happy Valentine’s Day! I know this holiday might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s definitely mine! Though I guess if we’re going with that analogy then it’s more like hot chocolate or lemonade because I’m not really a tea person. What can I say, I love Valentine’s Day! I love the colors (red, pink, pink and more pink!), I love all of the candy and I LOVE the fact that whenever we go to the store it smells soooo nice because of all of the fresh-cut roses. It’s magical! Not to mention I love an excuse to tell people I love them. :3

Valentine's Day Mani - Left

I haven’t been doing a lot of nail art (mostly just wearing skittles and swatching), but I knew I wanted to do something special for today! I sat down with my notebook and sketched out a few designs and then said to hell with it and just went to town on my nails.

Valentine's Day Mani - Right

I know that it doesn’t look as cohesive as some other designs do, but I don’t really care. There’s just something about having a different design on every nail that makes me happy. It feels very me. Not to mention it gives me an excuse to use as many colors as I can. I pulled out every shade of pink that I own and was determined to used EVERY SINGLE ONE! I didn’t get very far (mainly because I hate having to clean my brush/dotting tool that much), but I still think I did a pretty great job.

Valentine's Day Mani - Left 2

I’m not really going to go through every finger and explain what I did because that would that FOREVER and I have forgotten which colors I used anyway. We can just sit here and admire the glossiness and all of the pink!

Valentine's Day Mani - Right 2

My right hand didn’t turn out as well as I wanted it to mainly because I rarely paint designs on my right hand and I still need practice. My pointer was actually supposed to be a red background with hearts, but my hand slipped with the dotting tool and ruined it. I salvaged it by painting over it with white and using the saran wrap technique (a personal favorite of mine). The middle finger was actually the last one that I did and I had no idea what I wanted so I just stamped over it with black and my Shany plate SH22. The stamp didn’t turn out, but I left it because I was tired and I didn’t want to risk ruining my other nails just to redo that one. All in all I’m really happy with my nails and I can’t stop staring. So much pink! I LOVE IT!

I don’t really have big plans for today (other than staring at my nails). My mom and I might make something special or go out for dinner. And speaking of my mom and how much I love her she got me the best present for Valentine’s Day: NAIL POLISH! She got me an entire set of Color Clubs and a pack of Sally Hansens at ROSS. Man, I love my mom!

I hope you have an awesome Valentine’s Day whether you celebrate it or not. And even if you don’t I think we can all agree that we’re looking forward to getting candy on clearance tomorrow! YAY CAPITALISM!

One thought on “NAILED IT! Will You Be My Valentine?

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Nail Polishes of 2012! | Mario, Shut Up!

Leave a Reply

